I Don’t Have Enough. . .

Recently I posted a question on Facebook, “If time and money were not issues, what, then, is the biggest obstacle between you and your dream?”

Quite the question, huh?  In Oprah’s August issue of “O Magazine” she writes, “I’ve discovered that any deal that improves your life is a bargain, because life is all about getting better one day at a time.  This requires paying attention to what really matters, and being alive to now.”

A statement like this can have the tendency to invoke a response like, “Yes, Teri, and if I were Oprah and had the money to take care of my necessary needs I too could pay more attention to the now.”  I sooooooooo get this.  But I ask you to ponder for a moment, could it be that the need for more time and money are symptoms of something deeper?

I do get it.  On Maslow’s hierarchy of needs, the foundation is based largely on having our primary needs met: food, shelter clothing.  But if you have those things, then perhaps what you need more of is: more self-confidence, more self-worth, more self-love, more encouragement, more support, more gratitude. More often than not, if we had more of one the items listed above, we’d have more money and more time.  It seems too simple, and at the same time, daunting.  It’s a lot easier to focus on the tangible objects between us and our dreams, but it’s healing the emotional obstacles that bring us the greatest rewards.

Remember when you didn’t have your own place to live, your own family, you own choices about what to eat and when?  When we were kids we didn’t say, “When I’m rich I’ll have a super job and a big house.”  Instead we said things like, “When I’m on my own I’m going to have a house with 10 bedrooms, or I’m going to run my own company or I’m going to travel the world, or I’m going to be a writer.”  We didn’t feel like money or time were the keys, we were relying on our dreams.  What got in the way?  Maybe we received messages that we weren’t smart enough, good enough, loved enough and as adults who have manifested part of our dream we see time and money as our biggest obstacles.  I’m suggesting that more money, more time, more love, more _______, comes from allowing yourself to dream freely without the confines of, “When I have more  “X” then I’ll be able to ______.”

The key to dreaming is really appreciating what we have NOW!  The more we lament not having enough time or enough money to get to the level of comfort we desire, the more distance we put between ourself and the dreams we have.

For some, a daily gratitude journal is profound, for others, a mantra like, “I appreciate all that I have and I am creating the best life I can imagine.”  For still others it might be forming a dream circle where trusted friends and peers meet once a week to support each other’s dreams and ideas, for others it may be a vision board.  Find a way to express your dreams free of the need for more and you will find you are living

 

About Teri Johnson

I have been a life coach and meditation teacher since 1999. More importantly, for me, I have had the pleasure of being a mom for 20 years. But what really defines me is my passion for living an authentic life. I have a friend who calls me "Buddhist with and edge." I'm not a practicing Buddhist, but it sums up my approach to life quite nicely. Thank you for stopping by and ENJOY!
This entry was posted in Abundance and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

