Talkin’ the Talk

Whether you’ve ever been in therapy or come to awaken in your spirituality, you may have found that there is a new language that comes with the territory.  This can be such a beautiful thing unless you are engaging in conversation with someone who has learned juuuuuuust enough of the lingo but very little if any of the walk to back it up.

Years ago my husband attended a couple of spiritual lectures with me and learned just enough vocabulary and the context with which to use it to send me right over the edge.  We would be having a disagreement and he would say something like, “Well, if you CHOOSE to feel that way I cannot control it.”  Of course, you all know what I was thinking, “If you would just CHOOSE not to be a butt-head I wouldn’t have to feel this way.”

Our disagreements would turn into arguments that wandered so far from their point or origin because the bottom line was that if I couldn’t feel the integrity behind the words then I didn’t want to hear them.

I’ve also encountered many people who are really learning to walk the walk, doing their work, but feel that it’s OK to blast people with their new-found wisdom.  I’m ashamed to admit that I was one of these people years ago.  I might say or do something that upset someone else and then say to my husband, “Well, I just spoke my truth in a very loving way, so if they can’t deal with that then it’s really not my problem.”  Stings just to read that doesn’t it?  I’ve really tried to make amends with people that I treated with that level of Spiritual Egoism.

So, here’s where I’m really leading.  There are a lot of spiritual and Universal truths out there but first and foremost, just knowing the vocabulary isn’t enough.  We really have to be living those truths before we can throw the words around — unless of course you like having people throw sharp objects at you.  Secondly, there is real value in knowing what your truth is, but there is grace and wisdom in knowing when you need to share that truth and when you need to simply understand it.

Namaste

About Teri Johnson

I have been a life coach and meditation teacher since 1999. More importantly, for me, I have had the pleasure of being a mom for 20 years. But what really defines me is my passion for living an authentic life. I have a friend who calls me "Buddhist with and edge." I'm not a practicing Buddhist, but it sums up my approach to life quite nicely. Thank you for stopping by and ENJOY!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

