The Art of Resisting

I just returned from vacation….the laundry is done, thank you notes are written….I still need to do the grocery shopping.  In the midst of missing friends and family and getting on with my life in California, I’m reflecting on the biggest gift this vacation gave me–breathing space.

We all know the value of taking time for ourselves, but more and more I’m hearing people lament that clarity is still evading them.  I was one of those people.  And I was really frustrated.  I know how to meditate, I know how to take time in nature or listen to inspiring music or lean into a soul rattling book.  And still, in the confines of my daily grind, I could not find an ounce of the clarity I was seeking and the clarity that I knew was there for me.

I think it’s fitting that my clarity came while flying over our nation’s capitol.  The picture above is the “newish” WWII monument (which is so breathtaking it made me cry) with the Lincoln Memorial in the background.  What you cannot see that lies between the two is the reflecting pool — appropriately named.

Clarity came when I relinquished the resistance to what I was living in.  I learned a valuable lesson on this last trip…our surroundings and daily pressures take up more space than we know.  Clarity cannot come if our mind, emotions and energy field are bogged down in resisting where we are.  Resisting the job, the family, the responsibilities, the location…whatever that is for you.

Sometimes the resistance is mild and simply taking a walk, meditating or chatting with a good friend is enough to give you what you need.  But if you have tried all of those things  and you are still fighting for clarity, then maybe you need to take a drive, visit a friend in another town, go camping…do anything that causes you to completely separate from your routine.  It is that separation and relinquishing of the fight where clarity can permeate our being.

My 13 year old daughter summed it up nicely on this trip….she said, “When you close the door to resistance, the doors and windows to opportunity can open.”

About Teri Johnson

I have been a life coach and meditation teacher since 1999. More importantly, for me, I have had the pleasure of being a mom for 20 years. But what really defines me is my passion for living an authentic life. I have a friend who calls me "Buddhist with and edge." I'm not a practicing Buddhist, but it sums up my approach to life quite nicely. Thank you for stopping by and ENJOY!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

