The Year in….One Word?

Prompt from www.reverb10.com:  Encapsulate the year 2010 in one word. Explain why you’re choosing that word. Now, imagine it’s one year from today, what would you like the word to be that captures 2011 for you? (Author: Gwen Bell)

Challenging — That pretty much sums up 2010!  I remember January 1, 2010, vividly, I can still feel that feeling I had of anticipating a new year.  My daughter and I were running errands and I said to her, “something’s different, I can feel it.  I’m excited about this year.”  She replied that she could feel the energy of the year too.

As much as I would like to, I cannot really judge the challengingness of the year.  I would love to say it’s “bad” because it certainly has felt mostly like crap!  Learning to deal with my husband’s newly diagnosed MS, his 6th year of unemployment, feeling that it was proper to withdraw my partnership from a company I loved, the house not selling, the kids are stressed. . . the list goes on.  It’s weighty to revisit the challenges we’ve faced.  I will say that all of this has brought me to a place of learning to surrender and I think that’s probably the most powerful place I can be.  I don’t like it very much…it’s counter to my “doing” type-A personality.  But I know it’s right, from a place of surrender I’m learning to understand my own wants and desires so much.  I want to hate this year.  I certainly don’t want to repeat it, but perhaps it has set the stage beautifully for where I want to be next year which is saying that, “2011 is represented by Ease.”

I want things to come more easily, I want to create with more ease, I want transitions to be done with ease, I want my creations to be realized with great ease. . .  I want life to be easy! I can’t wait to write this post next December!

About Teri Johnson

I have been a life coach and meditation teacher since 1999. More importantly, for me, I have had the pleasure of being a mom for 20 years. But what really defines me is my passion for living an authentic life. I have a friend who calls me "Buddhist with and edge." I'm not a practicing Buddhist, but it sums up my approach to life quite nicely. Thank you for stopping by and ENJOY!
This entry was posted in #reverb10 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Year in….One Word?

  1. Katy says:

    May the new year…more importantly, from this day forward…my wish for you is that your life moves along easily and effortlessly!

    With much love my darling friend!

  2. Thank you my friend! Your words touch me so deeply and I appreciate the positive intention you shared! I hope the same for you!

Leave a Reply

