11 Things to Discard in 2011

Reverb 10 Prompt – 11 Things. What are 11 things your life doesn’t need in 2011? How will you go about eliminating them? How will getting rid of these 11 things change your life? (Author: Sam Davidson)

I read this prompt and thought, “Really, only 11?!”  Then I sat down to make my list – 45 minutes ago.  It was a lot harder than I thought.  I’m pretty good at getting rid of things that don’t serve me, so making this list presented a challenge.  The easier part of the list were the actual things I want to discard – in terms of  listing them anyway, getting rid of them is not completely in my control, but then again check #11 and it will all make sense.

1.  My Current House.  Selling it at a reasonable price as quickly as possible, to be clear.  I’ve learned the hard way what making vague statements gets me.  I’m ready to move and selling this house is a part of that plan.  What do I still need to do?  Release it with enthusiasm to the Universe.

2.  Clutter.  I’m not a big clutter person to begin with, but I want even less in 2011.  Packing should help as I’ve already dumped loads of stuff I don’t want to move across country.  All I have to do is keep remembering how much per pound it will cost me to hold on to it — GONE!

3. My last seven pounds.  I know, everyone is likely to have some weight on this list, but I’m to the “busting out of my clothes only 3 pairs of pants and that stretchy mumu left to wear in the closet.”  I plan on joining a running group in January, so that should take care of that!

4. My Coaching Practice.  I don’t like the word “discard” in terms of the business I’ve put 11 years of heart and soul into, but I’m already phasing out so again, it’s just about committing to let it completely go.  I’ve enjoyed the years of coaching, but now my passions have changed and I want to be in alignment with those.

5.  Dis-ease.  I’ve had enough of it and doctors and feeling crappy.  My plan is to formulate a care program that I know works for me; eating well, massage, acupuncture and exercise.  Preventative medicine.  I let a tough go of dis-ease put me back in the care of western medicine only to be reminded that band aids don’t heal!

6.  Over-indulging in Sweets.  Ok, I admit it; crunchy/salty or sweet?  I choose both.  All good things in moderation I know, but my moderation button has been uncalibrated for a long time, time to recalibrate and start paying more attention to what my body is telling me before it has to send uncomfortable signals like water retention and bloating, oh, and that excess weight!

7.  Judgements – particularly of other drivers.  I really generally give people the space to be who they need to be.  Until, that is, I’m behind the wheel of my car and need all morons to get out of my way.  Clearly I need to do some work on this.  So, the intention is there, but this one needs some deeper work because if I’m on the freeway and you can’t seem to tell the difference between the brake and the gas pedal I have little room for acceptance.

8.  Anger.  This one has been my opus until 2010.  This year I’ve really put my focus on releasing anger as a tool that I needed to have in my tool-kit.  I don’t need it when love and softness feel so much better.  But in light of a more complete release and in lieu of #7 I might need to take up walking to my destinations to make a complete transformation.

9.  Challenges.  At my annual visit my doctor asked me about my stress level.  I listed off the things going on in my life and then said, “But there are people who have it way worse than me.”  She took a long look at me and said, “I have to tell you, the challenges you are facing all piled up like that are the worst of any patient I’ve had in a long time.”  I think I was supposed to feel relief from her words, but it didn’t work that way.  Yes, my life has been challenging, but truth be told, I think I might be one of those people who thrive on challenges.  You know, those people who tend to feel that if they have challenges then they’re being productive.  I think in 2011 I’d like to try ease and grace and see how life flows from that place!

10.  Feelings of Being Overwhelmed.  2010 has been my year of overwhelmed.  Check out #9 and you’ll see why, but the truth is, overwhelmed comes from not processing through the emotions and stacking them up in the, “I’ll deal with you later” part of my body.  No more. I’m going to spend 2011 leaning into my feelings, all of them so that nothing stacks up!

11.  My Need to Control.  Yes, I confess, I’m a control freak.  It’s what kept me safe for a loooooong time.  But I don’t need to control things anymore!  I choose surrender instead.  Falling inward and relying on my heart instead of my head.  Learning to bring people into my life that don’t make me feel unsafe so that I can trust.  Yep, this is my big one for 2011 and the Universe is already conspiring to help me achieve it.

Whew, throwing away these 11 things already feels great.  I wonder what you’ll be throwing away this year?

About Teri Johnson

I have been a life coach and meditation teacher since 1999. More importantly, for me, I have had the pleasure of being a mom for 20 years. But what really defines me is my passion for living an authentic life. I have a friend who calls me "Buddhist with and edge." I'm not a practicing Buddhist, but it sums up my approach to life quite nicely. Thank you for stopping by and ENJOY!
This entry was posted in #reverb10 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 11 Things to Discard in 2011

  1. Katy says:

    Teri, I absolutely love this list. Funny thing, I can totally relate to so much of it. I think I’m going to have to ponder this one a bit more. Maybe after some food, fun, books and wine at our book club holiday party I’ll be able to take it on and work on releasing (still) more for this year.

  2. Anne says:

    This is a great list and much more thoughtful than the usual “work out more” things that most people put on their resolutions list. I haven’t been doing the Reverb10 questions but they are definitely thought provoking – which means ideas/goals/wants/hopes rise to a higher level of clarity and awareness. Thanks for posting yours.

Leave a Reply

