A Body in Atrophy or A Body in Health?

Scenes of Inner Taksang, temple hall, built ju...

Image via Wikipedia

Reverb10 Prompt – Body Integration. This year, when did you feel the most integrated with your body? Did you have a moment where there wasn’t mind and body, but simply a cohesive YOU, alive and present? (Author: Patrick Reynolds)

The simple answer to this is, Yes!  I’ve taught meditation for almost seven years and in that process learned how to be completely connected for that hour when I was meditating or teaching others to connect more deeply to their whole self.  During those times I move in complete harmony with all levels of my being, but in the last two years, in meditation is the only time I’ve done that, even though I know the benefits of living more integrated more of the time.

If I think back, the most healthy I have ever been was when I had time to meditate for 4-6 hours a day (not necessarily all in a row, I did have kids and a husband to attend to as well).  In that year my medical bills went from $4,000 to $1,000 and with two young kids who simply needed to go to the doctor sometimes, that was significant. I also found that I had been training myself to be more integrated as a natural state of being.  Therefore, I didn’t have to be meditating to feel a strong level of connection and vitality.

I have been painfully aware (literally and figuratively) over the past several years of how little I’ve been meditating relative to the amount of stress I am living, and my body has been letting me know.  Like a muscle without exercise, my ability to function from an integrated place had atrophied.  As a result, medical bills for me alone in the last year were well over. . . let’s just say a significant amount.  As I’ve slowly begun my process of healing and trying to practice more preventative care I see huge improvement.

Here’s what I know, behind EVERY illness there is emotional imbalance.  I can treat some symptoms and ignore others, but overall, if I’m not in that beautiful cohesive place of integration, then my body sends up signals.  The degree to which I ignore them corresponds directly to the severity of the dis-ease that I am in.

In 2011 I have a choice, actually I already made the choice, and that is to be a victim and wonder “why are all of these things happening to me?” Or, I can be empowered and more tuned in and more integrated.  It might mean more meditation, more journaling, more quiet moments, but I am quite certain that my quality of life will improve greatly, to say nothing of the bottom line in my bank account.  I choose empowerment, health, vitality and integration!

So, I’m wondering, how do you find the time to tune-in to yourself everyday?  Have you found that optimum place between quiet reflection and living life?  What’s your favorite way to re-integrate when you do find yourself out of balance?  Inquiring minds want to know!

About Teri Johnson

I have been a life coach and meditation teacher since 1999. More importantly, for me, I have had the pleasure of being a mom for 20 years. But what really defines me is my passion for living an authentic life. I have a friend who calls me "Buddhist with and edge." I'm not a practicing Buddhist, but it sums up my approach to life quite nicely. Thank you for stopping by and ENJOY!
This entry was posted in #reverb10 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Body in Atrophy or A Body in Health?

  1. Stereo says:

    This was SO interesting to read and now I’m intrigued as to if this is something I might be able to adopt in my life too.

Leave a Reply

