Hey, I Was Saving That!

Well, what are you waiting for?  How many times have we heard this from coaches, pundits and magazine articles?  They ask us to consider using the good china for every day occasions asking, “What are you saving it for?”  So, by now, most of us “get it” that we should live life more fully –at least when it comes to entertaining.

This idea doesn’t always cross over into our everyday living.  The truth is, most of us are programmed to ‘save up’, scrimp and ‘hold on to’ because we were taught that you don’t know when the other shoe will drop, and, who hasn’t experience a lean time or two. So we buy a blouse, lotion, perfume, chocolates, or insert your secret indulgence here, and save it.  We parse it out sparingly, sometimes so much so we forget we even have it.  Here’s the thing…how many times have you saved the lotion for so long that when you open it the beautiful smell of cherry blossoms has turned into one of plastic?  Or, you pull out that special piece of chocolate that you’ve been saving only to find out that it’s bloomed (that just happened to me the other night).  I could go on and on, the special shirt no longer fits or moths enjoyed it more than you did, the steak for the special meal is freezer burned, the perfume no longer fits your personality. . . .

This need to save and parse out is almost ingrained in us, so it shouldn’t be a surprise that without thinking we save and sparingly dole out good feelings too.  “Life is hard so savor the good moments” — heck, I think that may have even been a commercial tagline, so clearly the idea is pervasive.  If we are always stockpiling the good stuff  it’s no wonder we don’t experience joy on an ongoing and more regular basis, we are always preparing for lack.  So guess what we experience?

What would happen if we anticipated that there would be more of whatever it is we wanted when what we have is gone?  Instead of thinking, this perfume is so expensive I need to use it sparingly,” we thought, “I love how I feel when I wear this so I’m going to use it every day (and we didn’t worry about what would happen when it’s gone).  What I know to be true is that you would be allowing yourself so much joy and abundance that you would be attracting more of that into your life, so when it’s gone you would have the ability to manifest more of whatever you want at that time.

It may seem silly, but start with the everyday items; and as you allow yourself to indulge in the sweetness and joy and abundance of life you will attract that in all areas.  Now, if you’ll excuse me I have an appointment with my most indulgent bubble bath.

About Teri Johnson

I have been a life coach and meditation teacher since 1999. More importantly, for me, I have had the pleasure of being a mom for 20 years. But what really defines me is my passion for living an authentic life. I have a friend who calls me "Buddhist with and edge." I'm not a practicing Buddhist, but it sums up my approach to life quite nicely. Thank you for stopping by and ENJOY!
This entry was posted in Abundance and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hey, I Was Saving That!

  1. Katy says:

    I think I can relate to each and every example of “saving” that you gave (except the chocolate…what kind of person would save chocolate!?!?! Certainly not me, that’s for sure). I’m getting a little better about using my “special” stuff. Especially my perfume. I used to only wear perfume to work – and well, then I stopped working out of the home. So now, I’ve decided to wear it any time I leave the house…wherever that might take me. Same for lipstick – I’m now just as likely to apply a coat of lipstick or pretty gloss as I am to apply a lipbalm.

    Let’s start a revolution…we’ll get everyone to start using their “special” things today!!

    • Susie says:

      Katy – I totally agree! Wore a new outfit and coat today I had been “saving” and it felt great! And starting tomorrow, I’m using all the “good china”!!!

Leave a Reply

