Dear Me

Sheffield Park, a National Trust Garden in Eas...

Image by UGArdener via Flickr

Reverb10 Prompt – Future Self. Imagine yourself five years from now. What advice would you give your current self for the year ahead? (Bonus: Write a note to yourself 10 years ago. What would you tell your younger self?) (Author: Jenny Blake)

Writing to me now from the highest vision I have of myself in the future is a bit of a challenge.  But it’s in that challenge that I think the great stuff comes.  You see, to write from that place of wisdom I have to hold the vision of who I really believe I can be in five years.  She’s AMAZING! Dearest Self:

Be gentle with yourself.  Above all else, trust what you know you know. Success has come not from pushing that boulder up a hill, but from following your heart.  Love openly, success cannot come from a closed and fearful place.  Enjoy the ride a little more.  Soak up every step you take, there is great joy in this journey.  Remember to celebrate the successes along the way!

Writing to me ten years ago is the easy part, here’s what I’d tell her:

Dear Self:

Stop fretting so much about money.  Take vacations, and take the time to do things that will build your relationship with your family.  In the end it’s your memories that you have and they are the things that no on else can take away.  Your kids will grow just as fast as every one warned you, don’t take one minute for granted.  Tell your husband you love him every day;  building him up will be way more important than correcting what you think is wrong now.  Above all else, never look back!

About Teri Johnson

I have been a life coach and meditation teacher since 1999. More importantly, for me, I have had the pleasure of being a mom for 20 years. But what really defines me is my passion for living an authentic life. I have a friend who calls me "Buddhist with and edge." I'm not a practicing Buddhist, but it sums up my approach to life quite nicely. Thank you for stopping by and ENJOY!
This entry was posted in #reverb10 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

