What’s in a Name?

Reverb10 Prompt – New Name Let’s meet again, for the first time. If you could introduce yourself to strangers by another name for just one day, what would it be and why? (Author: Becca Wilcott)Teri Johnson

I have hated my name since I was in high-school and I found out it means “harvester.” I spent an entire month asking everyone to call me Courtney.   T E R I  –it has edges, it’s short (but not short for anything), it doesn’t roll off of your tongue and it’s neither feminine nor masculine.

I actually had a name report done by the Kabalarians this year and though it was interesting, it didn’t help my dissatisfaction and in the end I suspect they find issues with everyone’s name so that you’ll sign up for their assistance in choosing a “more appropriate” name.  Their system is based on the numerological significance of your name and it is quite fascinating. I completely sent my son over the edge looking for an alternative to Teri; Ginger, Melody and Samantha were all rejected.

As you can see, I have already spent far more time exploring this than anyone who is not actually going to change their name should.  But if I could introduce myself as someone different to strangers for just one day, I would say, “Hi, I’m Gabrielle.”  And no, you may not call me Gabby for short.  Gabrielle has a very spiritual significance for me and so I’d like to spend a day showing up in the full expression of that name.  I wonder, however, if in the end I wouldn’t just rather Teri.

About Teri Johnson

I have been a life coach and meditation teacher since 1999. More importantly, for me, I have had the pleasure of being a mom for 20 years. But what really defines me is my passion for living an authentic life. I have a friend who calls me "Buddhist with and edge." I'm not a practicing Buddhist, but it sums up my approach to life quite nicely. Thank you for stopping by and ENJOY!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What’s in a Name?

  1. Katy says:

    Uh oh…it seems I missed this one. And as a women of many names, I can easily pontificate on this – LOL. I’d love to hear some of the reasons behind Gabrielle. Such a pretty name. But as an east coaster, I’d have some difficulty not calling you Gabby!

Leave a Reply

