We’re All Going to Be OK

Washington Monument at DuskReverb10 Prompt – Everything’s OK What was the best moment that could serve as proof that everything is going to be alright? And how will you incorporate that discovery into the year ahead? (Author: Kate Inglis)

Have you ever stood quietly at a party, watched all of the other guests mill about, and thought to yourself, “Wow, I really have amassed a great group of friends”?  My “Everything’s OK” moment this year was somewhat like that.  I was on vacation in one of my favorite US cities with my family, one of my sisters, my nephew and my dad and his wife.  We had been touring Washington, D.C. all day on one of the hottest days of the year, had sat through a brief thunder storm and were seated (without a reservation mind you) at The Daily Grill.  We were laughing and talking and really, it had been a marvelous day.  My sister and I felt content realizing we were back home on the east coast, the kids had learned how to eat ice cream in the heat (a skill you don’t generally need in temperate Southern California) and our family was together – minus one sister – for the first time in almost 2 decades.

As I look back on that time of reconnecting with family, being in a place I love and enjoying every moment, I really had an, “it’s all OK” moment.  Just thinking back on it I  can feel that warm sensation bubble up in my chest.  How will I incorporate that in the coming year?  First of all it reignites within me the realization of how important family really is.  I have tried for years to be OK with minimal interaction, letting my feelings get hurt and not making a full effort to understand everyone.  I was wrong (but please don’t tell my husband and kids).  I intend to live differently, making more of an effort to just accept each person where they are and as who they are.  And I fully intend to be back on the east coast where connecting will just be that much easier.  Lots of movement ahead for me in 2011.

About Teri Johnson

I have been a life coach and meditation teacher since 1999. More importantly, for me, I have had the pleasure of being a mom for 20 years. But what really defines me is my passion for living an authentic life. I have a friend who calls me "Buddhist with and edge." I'm not a practicing Buddhist, but it sums up my approach to life quite nicely. Thank you for stopping by and ENJOY!
This entry was posted in #reverb10, Feelings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to We’re All Going to Be OK

  1. Katy says:

    Woohoo!! You WILL be back east this year. I’m so excited for you and I love your “everything’s ok” moment. I couldn’t really think of any particular moment for me so this was a bit of a tough one to write bout.

Leave a Reply

