My Core Story

Fantasies And Escapism

Image by Martin Gommel via Flickr

Reverb10 Prompt –Core Story. What central story is at the core of you, and how do you share it with the world?

Delete! Delete! Delete!  That’s what I want to do with the core story that I’ve been living with for 40 years.  It’s a story that embodies struggle, victimization and martyrdom.  This is NOT the story I want to take into 2011.

Instead, I choose for my core story to be one of peace, abundance, ease and grace.  I will reflect those elements in my parenting, my friendships and my work.  I will model a life where everything comes from my heart. Though, even as I write this I can feel the tug of my ego as it screams out warnings.  This is not a way of life that we were taught and it wonders if this is possible or a fantasy that leads to disappointment.

So let’s add faith, hope and trust to my core story.  Faith in myself, hope for all things loving and trust in the divine energy that moves through the Universe with perfection.  It’s hard to argue with that combination, so maybe I will start there.  After all, with faith, hope and trust at my core, the peace, abundance, ease and grace cannot be far behind.

About Teri Johnson

I have been a life coach and meditation teacher since 1999. More importantly, for me, I have had the pleasure of being a mom for 20 years. But what really defines me is my passion for living an authentic life. I have a friend who calls me "Buddhist with and edge." I'm not a practicing Buddhist, but it sums up my approach to life quite nicely. Thank you for stopping by and ENJOY!
This entry was posted in #reverb10 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Core Story

  1. Karen Mead says:

    Teri – I join you in pressing the delete button.! I love this analogy.. And I am also so ready for a new story. Thank you for reminding me!

  2. I just read your blog, “My Core Story”, and I must say that I am surprised that you would delete! I think I see you so very differently than you see yourself. True, you live with yourself, in your life, and I am just an outsider looking in on your journey, but I see you so differently. First off, in a previous blog, you said something about never wanting to be a guru and that you aired your dirty laundry…this might have been your way of keeping grounded, but this is what I appreciated MOST about you as a teacher! You are a real person, dealing with life with…dare I say it… a plethora of grace and patience and love. That is how I see you. That is why I am so drawn to you and feel so safe when talking with you.
    As far as your story being one of “struggle, victimization, and martyrdom”, maybe that’s true–I have never seen that…certainly not as your defining attributes, but who am I to question. But if that really does describe your core, then maybe that’s just a part of it. Because I could say the same thing about myself (and many of the women, no, people, in my life), but I would also say that the flip side of that is health and an abundance of joy and love! Those don’t always show, but they are there…and probably equally as much of my core story as the rest.
    What I am trying to say, is that I already see you as you wish to see yourself in your future. I really do. You are an amazing woman, and wife, and mother! Your ego is what makes you real and accessible to us “regular people” :), and your spirituality and faith is what makes you such an amazing teacher and person to be around.

    • Maria,

      As always you challenge me to look a little deeper – I so love you for that! I think you will find that your gentle push was the impetus behind today’s blog, “Who Are You?” The world is a better place for having people like you who push back with love and challenge others to find their greatness!

      Namaste

Leave a Reply

