Who Are You?

Back to your Inner Light!!! / Retour à votre L...

Image by Denis Collette...!!! via Flickr

Happy New Year!

On December 31, 2010 I wrote my last Reverb10 post of the year.  It prompted me to address what my core story was, and in the spirit of casting off all that I want to change I wrote that I would DELETE the parts of my core story that involved being a victim, martyr and generally unhappy.  A dear friend wrote me and pointed out that perhaps I was not looking at the best reflection of myself; and upon a great deal of introspection I realized that I was so desperate to start 2011 off clean, positive and different that I chose to focus on the more negative but human aspect of, well, most of us.

That’s not starting off the year new and fresh at all, especially when I remember the rule: what we focus on is what we get more of!  The thing is, I don’t think I’m out of the ordinary on this.

During the course of my ruminations today, words that my sister speaks often kept coming back.  She says, “Even though there are things in my life that were uncomfortable, stupid and painful, I wouldn’t be who I am today without those experiences.  So, I guess I’m ultimately glad they were a part of my life.”  YES! And though a part of me reeeeaaaaaally does want to hit a great big DELETE button on certain parts of my core personality (that image is a good one), I guess ultimately because of those elements I have become the person I am today — I’m pretty happy with me!  In truth, I really like who I am and who I have become as a mother, wife and businesswoman.

I rather suspect that thousands of people spent the day focusing on what they didn’t want to experience either in themselves, their job or their lives in general this coming year.  I’m a firm believer that sometimes we have to acknowledge what we don’t want in order to state with clarity what it is that we do want.  So, after much reflection this January 1st, I have chosen to focus on my better qualities and I’ve redefined some things that tended to shine a light on any shortcomings I do have….but that’s another blog topic altogether.  Today, I’m really in touch with my compassion, success and authenticity.  I am surprised at how quickly passion can bubble up inside of me and how easily I can be moved to tears.  I love both of those traits.  Mostly, I love my own strength of character — Press the INSERT button here.

What do you love most about yourself, your life your job?  Give those qualities life by labeling them, feeling them, watching them form shape.  Remember that you are who you are today because of all of who you have been!

About Teri Johnson

I have been a life coach and meditation teacher since 1999. More importantly, for me, I have had the pleasure of being a mom for 20 years. But what really defines me is my passion for living an authentic life. I have a friend who calls me "Buddhist with and edge." I'm not a practicing Buddhist, but it sums up my approach to life quite nicely. Thank you for stopping by and ENJOY!
This entry was posted in Authentic Self, Feelings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

