The Power of Feelings

You’ve probably heard that the most successful people (whether that be a mom, firefighter, NBA all-star or business person) knew what it would feel like to be successful, and so they just kept pursuing that feeling.  Most spiritual teachers tell us that feelings are the language of the soul and when we make decisions based on those feelings we are more apt to experience circumstances that emulate that very feeling.

Let me give you an example:  I was “sick” most of my life.  Chronic conditions like asthma, repeating bronchitis, fibromyalgia etc.  At some point in my late 20’s I decided I didn’t want to be sick anymore.  I had had some kind of “condition” most of my life, but there were moments when I felt “healthy.”  So as a part of my meditation practice I would sit and feel “health”.  Truth be told, I wasn’t completely sure what that really felt like–I had defined myself as in weak health, but when I imagined it, I felt expanded, free, light…. Within 2 months I was the healthiest I had ever been.

I believe the key is really getting to the root of what it is you want to feel.  Is it really success?  Or is it abundance, freedom or happiness?  For about six months now I have had my house listed for sale.  I desire a move back to the east coast.  Within four days of listing the house it sold!  Seven days later the buyers backed out.  Now, we’ve had over 60 people come through our home in the last 6 months with no contracts yet.  And as I recently  sat to feel this out (instead of reason it out) I realized that I have been visualizing my new place, but not feeling the feeling I want to experience when I’m there or when my house sells or anything.  When we sold our home so quickly after originally listing it I was feeling the essence of HOME!  You know that feeling; your heart is full and expanded and you feel love all around you.  At some point I fell out of that feeling and reason and logic began to take over.

I’m feeling it now — it feels like freedom:  freedom from the house, freedom to let in abundance, freedom to accept the best job….Because I have also been visualizing, I suspect things will line up quickly now.  My bigger point is, don’t just think about what you want and don’t try to determine what you need to do in order to get it.  Instead, try getting to the root of what it is you want to feel and incorporate that into your everyday living.  Before you know it, you will have what you want in a way more magnificent than you could have ever imagined!

Happy Feeling!

About Teri Johnson

I have been a life coach and meditation teacher since 1999. More importantly, for me, I have had the pleasure of being a mom for 20 years. But what really defines me is my passion for living an authentic life. I have a friend who calls me "Buddhist with and edge." I'm not a practicing Buddhist, but it sums up my approach to life quite nicely. Thank you for stopping by and ENJOY!
This entry was posted in Feelings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Power of Feelings

  1. meredith says:

    A wonderful reminder and VERY timely for where I´m at now! Thank you Teri, and here´s to your quick house sale and a smooth return to a thriving life back East. 🙂

  2. Mary Myers says:

    The Power of Feelings has been very meaningful to me. Love to have you focus more blogs to this subject — selfishly hoping the more I read about using feelings to get where I want to go, the more it will become part of my everyday experience.

Leave a Reply

