Lost ‘n Found

I always loved the lost and found when I was a kid and even more-so as a parent. Actually, I love the idea of the lost and found; the idea that if I lost something at school (or my kids did) there was some magic taking place (like the keen eye of a diligent parent or yard duty) that could potentially transport my lost item to the box for me to gather it later.  I distinctly remember experiencing extreme relief in the second grade when I found my Adams Family lunch box in the lost and found — my mom was none too happy that I had lost it and I was thrilled that the lost and found gods had seen fit to collect it and keep it safe for me.

 

Coexist

Image by pbyrne via Flickr

Today I was sitting in the Unitarian Universalist church in Oakton, VA–still trying to find a permanent home for my spiritual needs.  In the midst of me absorbing the morning and trying to decide if this was a place I could call my spiritual home, I heard the reverend say, “You can only find spirituality if you are looking for it.”  Isn’t that true?  Sort of like the lost and found at any public place– your item may be in that box, but if you’re not looking for it you cannot find it.  I have found so often in this New Age of spiritual awakenings that people learn the jargon and expect spirituality to then land in their laps. They sit waiting and waiting, spouting Universal Truth but not really doing that deep inner work that helps us find our spirituality.  In other words, they are not really looking for it.

 

What is spirituality to me?  To me, spirituality is the honest attempts at going deeper into oneself with the intention of connecting to the God essence that resides within and then tapping into that essence to fuel the rest of the journey.

Sometimes life seems to get in the way of that journey.  We find ourselves in crisis, pain, wanting….and we resort to waiting for our spirituality to come forward–for it to come save us, and the truth is that it is in those moments when we most need to go a little deeper in order to find the most brilliant piece of ourselves.

I believe that many people, myself sometimes included, stop and wait because they lack the feelings of self-worth that we must confront in order to see God within ourselves.  If you do not deem yourself worthy on any level (with finances, love, basic existence, etc.), that is an area that must be healed or cleared in order to see your own Divine essence more wholly. When you are fully connected to that essence, you are empowered and free, and from that place of love and knowing you shine your light and actively create the life and experiences you most desire.

About Teri Johnson

I have been a life coach and meditation teacher since 1999. More importantly, for me, I have had the pleasure of being a mom for 20 years. But what really defines me is my passion for living an authentic life. I have a friend who calls me "Buddhist with and edge." I'm not a practicing Buddhist, but it sums up my approach to life quite nicely. Thank you for stopping by and ENJOY!
This entry was posted in Authentic Self, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lost ‘n Found

  1. Mary Myers says:

    And once you go inside and make that connection, you truly “Flow in Harmony.” Loved this one.

  2. Maria H. says:

    Another wonderful reminder. Thank you Teri!

Leave a Reply

