Are You at the Top of Your Gift Receiving List?

One of the most challenging things about December is that we are prone to giving and giving and giving to others, but without the ability to receive we end up depleted.  Then we roll into the New Year with hopes that things will be different, plans to seize the day and not enough energy to really carry through.

Starting today I will be posting quick thoughtful exercises regularly throughout the month that draw your energy back in to you.  Exercises designed to connect or reconnect you with your dreams, aspirations and creative energy.  This is a chance to open your heart to yourself as we wrap up a very full 2011.  My challenge to you is not only to do the exercises but to share some of your journey, either here, on facebook (www.facebook.com/flowinharmony), in your own blog or on twitter with the hashtag #mygift2me.  Why share?  Because sharing makes it real.  Think about it.  When we make a commitment in our head it’s easy to break….no one knows we committed to self care or self nurturing.  But when we make a more public statement, then psychologically we are more apt to follow through.

Join me on an amazing journey toward keeping yourself at the top of your gift giving list this month.

Today’s opportunity:  A receiving exercise

Sit in a quiet space, close your eyes and think of your favorite place to be.  Say out loud, “I am open to receiving.”  Then, for 2 minutes, breath in the thought, “I am open to receiving” and exhale “resistance”.  At the end of the 2 minutes say aloud one more time, “I am open to receiving.”

Take a few moments to write down in your journal, a blog or a scrap of paper how you felt during this exercise.  Did you notice any resistance?  Did you understand where that resistance came from?  Did you experience peace, freedom or contentment?  How did that feel?


About Teri Johnson

I have been a life coach and meditation teacher since 1999. More importantly, for me, I have had the pleasure of being a mom for 20 years. But what really defines me is my passion for living an authentic life. I have a friend who calls me "Buddhist with and edge." I'm not a practicing Buddhist, but it sums up my approach to life quite nicely. Thank you for stopping by and ENJOY!
This entry was posted in #mygift2me and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

